Interest Rates Rant

Kick Back and Relax in the Cheers! Forum. Thoughts on life or want advice or thoughts from other pca members. Or just plain "chill". Originator of da Babe threads.
FlyingPenguin
Flightless Bird

Interest Rates Rant

Post by FlyingPenguin »

I've been saying for the past 2 years that the fed interest rate needs to go up. No one ever agrees with me. Homeowners worry about a high interest on mortgages and businesses love low interest loans.

HOWEVER the problem is that interest rates have been TOO LOW since the late 1990 - and especially after the last recession. This had negatively affected people because since that time since no one can earn any kind of decent interest on a savings account or CD. I can remember when savings accounts paid 5% and CDs paid 12% interest. Remember when there used to be Christmas savings accounts? I was joking with a bank rep about that the other day. He says older people still sometimes as about them, but they haven't existed in a long time - interest rates are so low that you'd get a few pennies at most.

Additionally, if you get into economics, the fed would like to raise rates (and they have been) during a good economy because that keeps a lid on inflation and, most important, gives them room to lower them again when the next recession rolls around to re-stimulate the economy.

Things are looking up though. I went to the bank to roll over a CD and was pleased to find that instead of the paltry .05% interest rate I was getting, my new rate is 2.65%.

We need banking interest rates to get back up to where someone can actually earn something. Yeah, that means loan rates will also go up but that's where they're supposed to be. You'll just need to price a new house by taking a higher mortgage into account - just like we did when rates were higher in the past.
"Turns out I’m 'woke.' All along, I thought I was just compassionate, kind, and good at history. "

Err
Life Member

Re: Interest Rates Rant

Post by Err »